Perspective

I put this up on my posterous.

An old woman lived inside a temple. She did not move or speak. She stayed in the same spot, doing nothing.

Every day, the man watched her sit quietly – saying nothing; doing nothing. He watched her do nothing and say nothing for days and weeks and months until one day he could take it no longer. Her inactivity roused him to action. He would prod her into action, he promised. He would take away whatever it was that stopped the poor soul from acting, from talking, from living.

He walked up to her.

“Why do you do nothing?” he asked. “I watch you everyday, I have done so for three years now. Each day, I ask myself how it is you can do nothing. Are you unable to move? Has someone forced you to do nothing? Whatever it is, I am here to help you! Be free, woman! Move, sing, dance, do what you want to do! Let no one and nothing stop you. Do you want money? What can I do for you?”

He paused, flushed with the sense of one effecting a great change.

The old woman looked at him coolly for a long minute.

Then she said –

“Have you ever considered that this is what I want to do?”

 

 

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

