Here’s to a Happy and Healthy Husband! *hic!*

I just finished praying for the health and continued long life of a husband whom I don’t have yet.

No, really.

Interesting no?

This is Nombu, a festival where the female gender, married or otherwise, prays for its husband to live happily. We put a sweet dish with butter on top and a banana, on a banana leaf, and then after a bit of prayer, we pick up a yellow thread with some flowers tied to it (also placed on said banana leaf) and tie it around our necks ourselves, thereby kidding ourselves into thinking a handsome hunk did so.

The actual prayer is translated as follows:

“I eat this sweet dish thing that has not-yet-melted butter on it

Under no circumstances should my husband separate from me”

Two things struck me immediately. One, it’s going to get dashed difficult for the husband – there must be so many things to do a day; loo, office, winking at neighbourhood chick and so on – and if he must never separate from me, it would make things a trifle awkward for the both of us. And two, assuming they meant separate in the long-term sense of the word, what is the connection between buttered sweets and preventing divorces, annulments and separations? Rather quite the reverse, I thought. More buttered sweet –> fatter and fatter –> less probability of lifelong sweet nothings from the husband.

While in school, we unassuming girls would report to school the next morning with yellow threads around our necks, sitting ducks for boys who were still at that awkward age when expressing affection towards girls takes the shape of incessant ribbing and insulting – you know, like Calvinย here. For days afterwards, we used to get called Married Madhavis. Desperate to get the thing off my neck, like the Ancient Mariner and his albatross (speaking of which, have you ever heard of an albatross in any other context?), I used to get told by my mother than one week was the Standard Thread-wearing Time and then I could cut it off throw it into the well. I used to wait for the day with an eagerness that my grandmother thoroughly disapproved of. “Yenna dhaan kalyanam pannindu kizhikka poradho!” (I doubt what significant things she will get married and achieve!) she frequently exclaimed.

Thankfully, marriage is a long time away.

In other news, further shopping happened today. I also met the charming owner of Creperie, a small kiosk selling, well, crepes and sandwiches outside Globus. (A crepe is a French pancake, apparently, that can be stuffed with sweet or spicy fillings.) She sells heavenly vegetable sandwiches that I can vouch for but I saved the crepes for another day, not having much of a sweet tooth. If you wander about Globus on Thiagaraya Road, you might want to pop over to the entrance and order a Choco Banana Crepe which she assures me is her specialty. She’s also planning on opening a restaurant soon- good luck with that, lady!

20 thoughts on “Here’s to a Happy and Healthy Husband! *hic!*

  1. Know what’s funny? It listed my post above yours because I am in a different time zone and so I posted “earlier” than you did. I’m sure it’s gonna do the same for this post as well

  2. Except it still makes no sense, because it’s not 9:15 pm is the time in India that I made the post, and it should still be listed under yours then.

    Unless you’re organising the comments by earliest posted is lowest – which still makes no sense because the March 14 comment is on top.

    Or you’re organising the comments by alphabetical order of who posted them. Why?

    Or some other mechanism that currently escapes me.

    Sorry for spamming your comments

  3. That C&H piece was sheer awesomeness!
    Well at least you girls have an official function to pray for a hunk. *sniff* We guys just need to satisfy ourselves with eating the Nombadai and praying from time to time with no specific occasion (esp. when seeing a Jessie or a Tamanna, knowing fully well the futility of such day-dreams). Like a friend told me – “Nenappu dhaan pozhappa kedukarudhu”
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    • No, I meant Thiagaraya Road. “Pondy Bazaar, the main shopping area, stretches for around a kilometre on Thyagaraya Road.” (source: Wiki) You’re not a Madrasi, is it?

      • Actually, does get used. ๐Ÿ™‚ Auto guys use it. I keep moving hither and thither in autos. Hence, proved.
        What’s in a name anyway? We both now know where the crepe shop is, which is what is of the essence. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • “Youโ€™re not a Madrasi, is it?” – Adi total damage da. ๐Ÿ˜€
        That said, Ramaa, “Globus in Pondy Bazaar” is 25 autos more popular than “Globus on Thyagaraya Road”, IMHO. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Haha! Apologies ๐Ÿ™‚ Where is that road in Chennai na udane I assumed you must have only visited Chennai / stayed for a small amount of time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Calvin always has something for everything ๐Ÿ™‚ And about albatrosses, hmm..I’ve heard something about it being the largest bird that flies or something. But thinking about it, we often encounter such offbeat names in a one-off place a – novel, poem et al. Somehow reminded of aardavark – the only place I have come across it is whenever I used to open a dictionary and peer at the first few words, when I was young ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sathej

Leave a Reply

